View all newsletters
Have the short, sharp Spear's newsletter delivered to your inbox each week
  1. Wealth
  2. Wealth Management
November 7, 2017

Revealed tonight: the winners of the Spear’s 2017 Wealth Management Awards

By Olenka Hamilton

The winners of the most prestigious awards in wealth management – the annual Spear’s Wealth Management Awards – will be announced tonight at The Dorchester

After a year of rigorous research and consultation with eminent judges, the Spear’s Research Unit will tonight announce the names that the private client world has been waiting for: the winners of the Spear’s Wealth Management Awards 2017.

Regularly attended by more than 500 of Europe’s wealth management heavyweights and HNWs, this year the event will be held on 7 November at The Dorchester in London, recognising the very best wealth managers and private client professionals in the business. Supported by headline sponsor Gaggenau, the night will be hosted by Sky News economics editor, Ed Conway, alongside Spear’s Magazine’s founder and editor-in-chief, William Cash.

Across 18 shortlists, Spear’s has nominated 82 of the most talented advisers across numerous sectors of the wealth management industry. From private banking to family office services, and a variety of lawyers across the legal spectrum, the night will bring a pool of the capital’s top experts with a collective experience of approximately 2,000 years in the highly niche and discreet private client world.

The evening will include the coveted Trusted Adviser award, with the highly respected tax advisers Elizabeth Henson (PwC), Mark Bridges (Farrer & Co) and Jonathan Conder (Macfarlanes), reputation law guru Mark Stephens (Howard Kennedy) and family office adviser William Drake (Owl Private Office) in the running. The anticipated Outstanding Achievement Award will be announced on the night.

Following the tremendous success of the 10th year of Spear’s, ‘the Bible of the banking fraternity’ marches into its 11th year with aplomb. Expect a celebratory night of networking, drinks and triumphs at The Dorchester, an eventful moment to praise the best of wealth management in London, and what these eminent professionals has to offer to the growing population of the globe’s elite.

The awards take place on the 7th of November, 7pm at The Dorchester. The nominees for the Spear’s Wealth Management Awards 2017 are as follows:

Private Banker of the Year

Content from our partners
Why investors should consider investing in nature
HSBC Global Private Banking: Revisiting your wealth plan as uncertainty abounds
Proposed non-dom changes put HNW global mobility in the spotlight

Dina de Angelo – Pictet & Cie

Jim Bouley – Julius Baer

Roddy Boulton – Credit Suisse

Peter Gale – C Hoare & Co

Amit Kotha – RBC

Camilla Stowell – Coutts

Helen Watson – Rothschild & Co

Private Bank of the Year (UK)

C Hoare & Co

Coutts Private Bank

Hampden & Co

HSBC Private Bank

Rothschild & Co


Private Bank of the Year (International)

Citi Private Bank

JP Morgan Private Bank

Julius Baer

Pictet & Cie


Future Leader in Wealth Management

Clement Hutton-Mills – Rothschild & Co

Cordelia Bowdery – Veritas

James Barrett – Julius Baer

Tiffany Troxel – Julius Baer

Wealth Management Innovator of the Year

Alan & Gina Miller – SCM Direct

James Sellon – Maseco

Jamie Ritblat – Mount Kendal

Jonathan Bell – Stanhope Capital

Family Office Services Provider of the Year


Owl Private Office

Smith & Williamson

Stonehage Fleming

Lawyer of the Year – Tax & Trust

Ashley Crossley – Baker McKenzie

Charles Gothard – Macfarlanes

Filippo Noseda – Mishcon de Reya

Jonathan Conder – Macfarlanes

John Riches – Withers

Mark Bridges – Farrer & Co

Russell Cohen – Farrer & Co

Lawyer of the Year – Family

Davina Katz – Schillings

Emma Hatley – Stewarts

Frances Hughes – Hughes Fowler Carruthers

Joe Vaitilingam – Vaitilingam Kay

Miranda Fisher – Charles Russell Speechlys

Susan Apthorp – Sears Tooth

Lawyer of the Year – Reputation

Charlotte Harris – Kingsley Napley

Ramona Mehta – Mishcon de Reya

John Kelly – Harbottle & Lewis

Niri Shan – Taylor Wessing

Nigel Tait – Carter Ruck

Private Client Accountant of the Year

James Hender – Saffery Champness

Nicola Roberts – Deloitte

Paul Hocking – Frank Hirth

Simon Jennings – Smith and Williamson

Property Adviser of the Year

Camilla Dell – Black Brick Property Search

Ed Tryon – Lichfields

Guy Meacock – Prime Purchase

Peter Wetherell – Wetherell

Thomas van Straubenzee & Rory Penn – VanHan

Trusted Adviser Award

Elizabeth Henson – PwC

Jonathan Conder – Macfarlanes

Mark Bridges – Farrer & Co

Mark Stephens – Howard Kennedy

William Drake – Owl Private Office

Philanthropy Adviser of the Year

Anne Marie Piper – Farrer & Co

Clive Cutbill – Withers

John Canady – National Philanthropic Trust UK

Jon Kinnell – CAF

Maya Prabhu – Coutts

Simon Weil – Bircham Dyson Bell

Entrepreneur of the Year

Ben Elliot, Paul Drummond and Aaron Simpson – Quintessentially

Emily Forbes – Seenit

Kyrn Dennyh – hVIVO

Rod Brown – Opun

Angus MacDonald – SWR

High Net Worth Asset Manager of the Year

Alice d’Esparbes – UBS

Bandish Gudka – LGT Vestra

Charles White – McInroy & Wood

Patrick Wilson – Credit Suisse

Ross Elder – Lincoln Private Investment Office

Ultra High Net Worth Asset Manager of the Year

Daniel Pinto – Stanhope Capital

Khaled Said – Capital Generation Partners

Natasa Williams – LGT Vestra

Patrick Smiley – Smith & Williamson

Topics in this article :
Select and enter your email address The short, sharp email newsletter from Spear’s
  • Business owner/co-owner
  • CEO
  • COO
  • CFO
  • CTO
  • Chairperson
  • Non-Exec Director
  • Other C-Suite
  • Managing Director
  • President/Partner
  • Senior Executive/SVP or Corporate VP or equivalent
  • Director or equivalent
  • Group or Senior Manager
  • Head of Department/Function
  • Manager
  • Non-manager
  • Retired
  • Other
Visit our privacy policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.
Thank you

Thanks for subscribing.

Websites in our network