View all newsletters
Have the short, sharp Spear's newsletter delivered to your inbox each week
  1. Wealth
September 10, 2012

Nominations for Beacon Awards for Philanthropy Open

By Spear's

London, 10 September 2012 – J.P. Morgan Private Bank today announces its sponsorship of the 8th biennial Beacon Awards for Philanthropy, as the awards open for people to nominate philanthropists

London, 10 September 2012 – J.P. Morgan Private Bank today announces its sponsorship of the 8th biennial Beacon Awards for Philanthropy, as the awards open for people to nominate philanthropists.

The Beacon Awards celebrate the work of individuals who have set the standards of best practice in philanthropy.  This year the awards seek to find outstanding individuals whose work in the field of philanthropy is making a sustainable difference, along with those who have had a significant impact on a cause, or a philanthropist who will inspire or encourage future philanthropists to give.  Philanthropists will either be based in the United Kingdom/Republic of Ireland-based or will have focused their giving on areas of need in the UK.  J.P. Morgan Private Bank is pleased that the City of London Corporation and Pears Foundation recognise the importance of the Beacon Awards by providing additional sponsorship.

There are seven different award categories in which individuals can be nominated:

·         The Beacon Award for Cultural Philanthropy

·         The Beacon Award for Impact Investment

·         Beacon Award for Philanthropy Advocate

·         Beacon Award for Pioneering Philanthropy

Content from our partners
How Flygreen is ascending into the future of private aviation
Stoneweg, Icona, and CBH Strengthen Partnership with Cromwell Acquisition, Adding €4 Billion AUM to Stoneweg
Why investors should consider investing in nature

·         Beacon Award for Place-Based Philanthropy

·         Beacon Award for Targeted Philanthropy

·         Beacon Award for City Philanthropy

Tracey Reddings, head of J.P. Morgan Private Wealth Management for the UK commented: “We are delighted to sponsor the Beacon Awards in 2012/13, and fully support both the recognition of outstanding contributions made, and also the building up a body of work to inspire others to actively engage with philanthropy.”

A Beacon Champion from each category will be announced at a reception on 6 February 2013.  Previous recipients of Beacon Awards include Zac Goldsmith, Young Philanthropist in 2003 and John and Alex Timpson, Family Business Philanthropists in 2010.

Stephen Cohen, Chair of the Beacon Fellowship Charitable Trust, commented; “This year, with the sponsorship of J.P. Morgan Private Bank, and additional support from the City of London Corporation and Pears Foundation, the categories for nomination have been chosen to reflect exciting new approaches to philanthropy and with a view to sharpening our focus on celebrating work in areas where we believe that people will want to learn from examples of outstanding philanthropic practice.”

Lord Mayor of the City of London Corporation, David Wootton, said; “As the principal sponsor of these awards, J.P. Morgan Private Bank’s contribution is a tremendous and welcome boost for philanthropy.

Many of the City of London’s most wealthy make generous donations to causes they are passionate about, using the skills and knowledge acquired in their business careers to become engaged and effective philanthropists.  I am delighted that the Beacon Award for City Philanthropy will recognise such achievement. London’s financial hub borders some of the poorest areas in Europe and the City has an obligation to lead the way in helping the most vulnerable in society.”

Rebecca Eastmond, head of Philanthropic Services EMEA at J.P. Morgan Private Bank also commented: “We welcome the chance to reflect upon the significant contributions made by UK philanthropists to both this nation and to the world. The Awards recognise those philanthropists who have set aside and used their money, energy and time for philanthropy effectively and, in doing so, have made a real difference to society. The best giving does not begin or end with signing a cheque.”

“I would urge anyone who has seen or benefitted from philanthropy to seriously consider nominating a candidate for this year’s awards – it doesn’t take long, but could go a long way in encouraging the support of philanthropic giving for generations to come.”

For more information on the categories and nomination forms visit


Nominees must:

> be an individual, family or small group of individuals working collaboratively;
>must live or work in the UK, Channel Islands; Republic of Ireland or Isle of Man – this requirement will not apply if the philanthropy is targeted at a need, cause or activities based in the UK;
> be a donor or, for the category of Philanthropy Advocate only,  have promoted philanthropic giving.

The closing date for nominations is 1800 on 26 October 2012.

Select and enter your email address The short, sharp email newsletter from Spear’s
  • Business owner/co-owner
  • CEO
  • COO
  • CFO
  • CTO
  • Chairperson
  • Non-Exec Director
  • Other C-Suite
  • Managing Director
  • President/Partner
  • Senior Executive/SVP or Corporate VP or equivalent
  • Director or equivalent
  • Group or Senior Manager
  • Head of Department/Function
  • Manager
  • Non-manager
  • Retired
  • Other
Visit our privacy policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.
Thank you

Thanks for subscribing.

Websites in our network